Umpire Regrets Badly Blown Call, a Violation of Our National Pastime’s Golden Rule: ‘Keep Your Eye on the Ball’

SEATTLE (TheBlaze/AP) — Umpire Jeff Nelson expressed regret for making an incorrect call Friday night, saying it was a play he’d never seen in 25 years.

Uh, “seen”?

If only he had.

The missed call came in the second inning of Texas’ win Friday and stymied a possible rally by the Mariners. Seattle’s Jesus Sucre hit a grounder to first baseman Mitch Moreland, who threw to second base to get the lead runner. The relay back from shortstop Elvis Andrus was in time and Nelson called Sucre out for a double play.

But Moreland never caught the ball. Texas pitcher Justin Grimm, running to cover first, caught the wide throw in front of a stretching Moreland.

“He’s out!” But as you can see, the pitcher catches the relay throw…and his feet are nowhere near the first base bag.  (YouTube)

Nelson spoke to a pool reporter before Saturday night’s game between the Seattle Mariners and Texas Rangers where Nelson was set to work behind the plate.  Yikes.

Nelson said his focus the previous night was on Moreland’s foot and he never saw Grimm grab the throw.

Check out the ump’s moment of regret here, via TXA-21:

However poor Nelson’s call was, it will never compare to arguably the blown call of the ages.

Umpire Jim Joyce (below) denied a perfect game to pitcher Armando Galarraga of the Detroit Tigers on the last out of a now infamous 2010 game, calling a runner safe at first when replays show he was clearly out.

Relive the horror here:

There’s a sort-of happy ending to the latter faux pas; Joyce apologized to Galarraga, and they later penned a book together.

The title?

Nobody’s Perfect.

(H/T: Deadspin)