U.S. Announces Sanctions Against Russian Officials After Crimea Vote

WASHINGTON (AP) — President Barack Obama is imposing sanctions against Russian officials after Crimea’s vote to secede from Ukraine.

Obama’s executive order issued Monday names seven Russian government officials. The United States also says it identifies and targets the assets of other individuals who aren’t government officials but are supporting them.

Pro-Ukrainian activists demonstrate during an EU foreign ministers meeting outside the EU Council in Brussels, Monday, March 17, 2014. British Foreign Secretary William Hague says he is confident that the European Union will ratchet up pressure on Russia over its role in the breakaway of Ukraine’s Crimea region by imposing sanctions on people linked to the secession of the peninsula. The 28-nation EU condemned the Crimea referendum which overwhelmingly backed a return to Russia, and the EU foreign ministers were assessing on Monday who to target for asset freezes and travel bans. (AP Photo/Geert Vanden Wijngaert)

The Treasury Department also is imposing sanctions on four Ukrainians, including former President Viktor Yanukovych (yah-noo-KOH’-vich) and two Crimea-based separatist leaders.

The U.S. announcement came shortly after the European Union announced travel bans and asset freezes on 21 people.

The sanctions were expected after residents in Crimea voted overwhelmingly Sunday in favor of the split.

Programming note: For The Record, TheBlaze’s investigative newsmagazine show, will speak with sources from within Ukraine during a half-hour special focused on the unfolding events surrounding Crimea. What you don’t know about the crisis in Ukraine but should — the outcome could change the world. This Wednesday at 8 p.m. ET, only on TheBlaze TV.