Watch LIVE

The Democrats who voted for Pompeo all have one thing in common

Conservative Review

President Donald Trump's nominee for secretary of State, Mike Pompeo, was confirmed for the position by the Senate Thursday afternoon. Pompeo will now serve as the 70th secretary of state, replacing Rex Tillerson in the Trump administration.

Altogether, six Democrats and one Independent joined with every Republican senator to confirm Pompeo with a 57- 42 vote.

The Democrats, Sens. Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D., Joe Manchin, D-W. Va., Joe Donnelly, D-Ind., Doug Jones, D-Ala., Claire McCaskill, D-Mo., and Bill Nelson, D-Fla., all have one thing in common: They're from states that Donald Trump won in 2016. Most of them are also up for re-election in November, with the exception of Doug Jones, who may run for re-election in 2020.

The pattern holds for Sen. Angus King, I-Maine, as well. King, who caucuses with the Democrats, is up for re-election this year, and President Trump won his state's first congressional district in 2016. Maine is one of two states that splits electoral college votes by congressional district.

It looks like these Senate Democrats running for re-election are trying to be careful not to appear too hostile to President Trump's agenda in states where he won.

Keep reading... Show less
Most recent
All Articles