© 2024 Blaze Media LLC. All rights reserved.
Republican lawmakers push pro-life bill to allow women to receive child support for unborn children
Daniel Berehulak/Getty Images

Republican lawmakers push pro-life bill to allow women to receive child support for unborn children

A group of Republican lawmakers is backing a pro-life bill that would give mothers the opportunity to receive child support before a baby is born.

The Unborn Child Support Act reflects the reality that life starts at the time of conception, and therefore, pregnant mothers should be able to get child support as they carry their child.

The measure would insert language into the Social Security Act which states that "the start date for such obligations may begin with the first month in which the child was conceived, as determined by a physician (and shall begin with that month if the mother so requests)." The funds could "be retroactively collected or awarded," according to text.

GOP lawmakers in both chambers of Congress are pushing the proposal.

"Life begins at conception, and this bill is a straightforward first step towards updating our federal laws to reflect that fact. We are hopeful that Democrats will join this bicameral effort to provide mothers with child support payments while their child is in the womb," Rep. Mike Johnson of Louisiana said, according to a press release.

"Caring for the well-being of our children begins long before a baby is born. It begins at the first moment of life – conception – and fathers have obligations, financial and otherwise, during pregnancy. Mothers should be able to access child support payments as soon as she is supporting a child. Our bill makes this possible," Sen. Kevin Cramer of North Dakota said.

The lawmakers supporting the measure include Cramer, Johnson, Sens. Steve Daines of Montana, Jim Inhofe of Oklahoma, Cindy Hyde-Smith of Mississippi, Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee, Rick Scott of Florida, Roger Marshall of Kansas, James Lankford of Oklahoma, Roger Wicker of Mississippi, Marco Rubio of Florida, and Reps. Chris Smith of New Jersey, Jim Banks of Indiana, Doug Lamborn of Colorado, Ralph Norman of South Carolina, John Moolenaar Michigan, Doug LaMalfa of California, Randy Weber of Texas, Garret Graves of Louisiana, Jake Ellzey of Texas, Randy Feenstra of Iowa, and Claudia Tenney of New York.

Want to leave a tip?

We answer to you. Help keep our content free of advertisers and big tech censorship by leaving a tip today.
Want to join the conversation?
Already a subscriber?
Alex Nitzberg

Alex Nitzberg

Alex Nitzberg is a staff writer for Blaze News. He is an accomplished composer and guitar player and host of the podcast “The Alex Nitzberg Show.”
@alexnitzberg →