Please verify

Watch LIVE

Here Are the Republicans Who Voted for John Brennan -- They May Surprise You


Hint: At least one participated in the filibuster.

Marco Rubio (Photo Credit: AP)

John Brennan's nomination for the post of CIA Director was met by an unprecedented response among a vocal, if small, group within the Republican coalition in the Senate. Specifically, following the leadership of Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY), Brennan's nomination was filibustered in the most old-fashioned way. However, that filibuster failed to convince 13 Republicans in total,* all of whom voted for Brennan's eventual confirmation. Making matters worse, at least one of those actively participated in the filibuster. Who were the Republicans who bucked their party and voted for Brennan? Read on to find out, in alphabetical order, who was responsible.

#1. Richard Burr (R-NC)

Richard Burr (Photo Credit: AP)

#2. Dan Coats (R-IN)

Dan Coats (Photo Credit: AP)

#3. Tom Coburn (R-OK)

Tom Coburn (Photo Credit: AP)

#4. Susan Collins (R-ME)

Susan Collins (Photo Credit: AP)

#5. Bob Corker (R-TN)

Bob Corker (Photo Credit: AP)

#6. Jeff Flake (R-AZ)

Jeff Flake (Photo Credit: AP)

#7. Lindsey Graham (R-SC)

Lindsey Graham (Photo Credit: AP)

#8. Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

Orrin Hatch (Photo Credit: AP)

#9. Mark Kirk (R-IL)

Mark Kirk (Photo Credit: AP)

#10. John McCain (R-AZ)

John McCain (Photo Credit: AP)

#11. Marco Rubio (R-FL)

Marco Rubio (Photo Credit: AP)

#12. Lamar Alexander (R-TN)

Lamar Alexander (L) (Credit: AP)

#13. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)

Sen. Lisa Murkowski (Credit: AP)

Bonus: The two Democrats who voted against John Brennan's confirmation:

Patrick Leahy (Photo Credit: AP)

Sen. Jeff Merkley (Credit: AP)

Bonus #2: Sen. Ron Wyden, the lonely outspoken Democrat to participate in Rand Paul's filibuster, eventually voted to confirm Brennan:

Senator Ron Wyden (Credit: Getty Images)

If you remember, Rubio was a vocal participant in Rand Paul's Wednesday filibuster.

*​This story has been updated with two additional senators, Alexander and Murkowski.

Most recent
All Articles