Watch LIVE

UN General Assembly votes overwhelmingly to condemn Israel’s claim to an undivided Jerusalem

The Israeli flag flutters in front of the Dome of the Rock mosque and the city of Jerusalem on Friday. The United Nations General Assembly voted to condemn Israel’s claim to an undivided Jerusalem. (Thomas Coex/AFP/Getty Images)

One hundred and fifty-one member states in the United Nations General Assembly voted to condemn Israel’s claim to an undivided Jerusalem on Thursday.

The United States was one of just six countries to vote against the resolution. Nine states abstained.

What was the resolution?

According to the United Nations, the text of the resolution “reiterated that any actions by Israel, the occupying Power, to impose its laws, jurisdiction and administration on the Holy City of Jerusalem were illegal and therefore null and void.”

“It further stressed the need for the parties to refrain from provocative actions, especially in areas of religious and cultural sensitivity, and called for respect for the historic status quo at the holy places of Jerusalem,” the United Nations said.

According to the Washington Post, Israel sees an undivided Jerusalem as its capital, Palestinians want East Jerusalem as the capital of a Palestinian state.

The Jerusalem Post reported that the measure was one of six anti-Israel resolutions the General Assembly passed Thursday.

The vote came the day after the UN marked the International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People on Nov. 29, the 70th anniversary of the day UN General Assembly voted in favor of a resolution that led to the creation of Israel.

Israeli diplomat Hadas Meitzad told the U.N. that some countries still refuse to accept the existence of her country. She added that while Nov. 29 should be a day of celebration, it has become an “annual Israel-bashing session.”

American diplomat Richard Erdman told the assembly, “Biased resolutions do not help advance peace,” and noted that the American delegation opposes one-sided resolutions against Israel.

In addition to the United States and Israel, Canada, Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, and Nauru voted against the measure. Australia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Honduras, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, South Sudan, and Togo did not vote.

The vote comes as the administration officials indicated President Donald Trump is considering recognizing Jerusalem as Israel’s capital and moving the U.S. embassy to the city, as he promised during the campaign.

Most recent
All Articles