© 2024 Blaze Media LLC. All rights reserved.
Here are some of the write-in candidates Alabama voters supported over Doug Jones or Roy Moore
In Alabama’s special election for the U.S. Senate on Dec. 12, some of the candidates receiving write-in votes included former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney, Sen. John McCain, former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, Alabama coach Nick Saban, comedian Ellen DeGeneres, political commentator Ben Shapiro, Santa Claus, Bugs Bunny, and SpongeBob SquarePants. (Justin Sullivan/Getty Images)

Here are some of the write-in candidates Alabama voters supported over Doug Jones or Roy Moore

Democrat Doug Jones defeated Republican Roy Moore in Alabama’s special election for the U.S. Senate on Dec. 12 in the wake of allegations that Moore molested a 14-year-old girl. Multiple other women accused Moore of misconduct as well.

Some voters felt unable to support either candidate, including Republicans who viewed the numerous allegations against Moore as credible or his positions on some issues as extreme. Jones' victory was formally certified Thursday. Moore has thus far refused to concede.

The New York Times noted that Jones won the race by fewer than 22,000 votes, while more than 22,800 Alabamians cast write-in ballots.

The Alabama secretary of state’s office released on Thursday the names of all those whose names voters chose to write in.


President Donald Trump and former Presidents Barack Obama, George W. Bush, and Bill Clinton, all received write-in votes.

Other politicians who received votes included:

  • Mitt Romney, former Republican presidential nominee and former Massachusetts governor
  • Sen. John McCain (R-Ariz.), a former Republican presidential nominee
  • Condoleezza Rice, an Alabama native and former U.S. secretary of state
  • Jeff Sessions, former Alabama senator and U.S. attorney general
  • Sen. Richard Shelby (R-Ala.)
  • Outgoing Alabama Sen. Luther Strange (R-Ala.)
  • Rep. Mo Brooks (R-Ala.)
  • Rep. Martha Roby (R-Ala.)

Public figures

  • Nick Saban, Alabama football coach
  • Ellen DeGeneres, actress, TV talk-show host, comedian
  • Mel Brooks, actor, director, producer

Conservative commentator Ben Shapiro received write-in votes in the race as well. On Twitter, Shapiro poked fun at Moore’s refusal to concede the race, writing, “On the basis of those votes, I refuse to accept my loss and challenge the election results.”

Fictional characters

  • Ron Swanson
  • Santa Claus
  • Kermit the Frog
  • Snoopy
  • Bugs Bunny
  • Snow White
  • Elmer Fud
  • Mickey Mouse
  • Pepé Le Pew
  • SpongeBob SquarePants


Some voters weren’t specific, casting write-in votes for:

  • The Will of God
  • A Normal Republican, Please
  • Anybody
  • Anyone
  • Anyone else
  • Decent Republican Candidate
  • Different Republican
  • A Better Choice
  • No Moore Jones
  • None
  • Nope
  • Not These Two
  • Other Distinguished Gentleman
  • Someone with Integrity

The secretary of state’s office also declined to list some write-in votes “due to graphic language.”

(H/T New York Times)

Want to leave a tip?

We answer to you. Help keep our content free of advertisers and big tech censorship by leaving a tip today.
Want to join the conversation?
Already a subscriber?