Please verify

Watch LIVE

19 Embassies in Muslim Countries Closed Through Aug. 10


Story by the Associated Press; curated by Dave Urbanski

WASHINGTON (AP) — The State Department says U.S. diplomatic posts in 19 cities in the Muslim world will be closed through Saturday "out of an abundance of caution."

State Department spokeswoman Jen Psaki says the decision to keep the embassies and consulates closed is "not an indication of a new threat."

Diplomatic facilities will remain closed in Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Saudi Arabia and Kuwait, among other countries.

New embassies ordered to shut down through Saturday include facilities in central and east Africa, including the capitals of Burundi and Rwanda, according to USA Today, adding that a third embassy in Saudi Arabia was closed.

Among those closed Sunday but set to reopen Monday are posts in Afghanistan, Iraq and Bangladesh, USA Today added.

The Obama administration announced Friday that the posts would be closed over the weekend and the State Department announced a global travel alert, warning that al-Qaida or its allies might target either U.S. government or private American interests.

This is a breaking news story. Updates will be added.



Most recent
All Articles