Watch LIVE

39 Dems Break Rank in Adjournment Vote, Pelosi Casts Tiebreaker


In an almost-surprising turn of events, House Democrats on Wednesday barely won a 210-209 vote to adjourn the House without extending the Bush tax cuts. 39 Democrats broke rank and voted against adjournment, while House Speaker Nancy Pelosi had to cast the tiebreaking vote.

In a rousing speech on the House floor before the vote, Minority Leader John Boehner (R-OH) called on his colleagues to stay in session long enough to vote on tax cuts: "Vote no on this adjournment resolution. Give Congress a chance to vote on extending tax rates." After the vote was finalized, he accused those voting for adjournment of "putting their election above the needs of your constituents."

Ironically, Democrats voting not to adjourn might have made that decision based on politics, too.

"Virtually every politically vulnerable Democrat, ranging from Bobby Bright of Alabama to Stephanie Herseth Sandlin of South Dakota to Frank Kratovil of Maryland, voted against adjourning the House," Politico reports, "believing they should stick around to extend the tax cuts."

Many Democrats have been breaking with their party's agenda as Americans increasingly grow disgruntled with the party's track record in Congress. Breaking rank, then, may be a last-ditch effort to show that the candidates are more loyal to their constituencies than their party.

The vote to adjourn does not mean an immediate departure for the Representatives. As The Hill reports, the House still has to vote on several issues, including a measure to keep the federal government operating through Dec. 3, before it adjourns.

The Hill also released a list of all the Democrats who voted against adjournment:

Rep. John Adler (N.J.)

Rep. Jason Altmire (Pa.)

Rep. Michael Arcuri (N.Y.)

Rep. Melissa Bean (Ill.)

Rep. Tim Bishop (N.Y.)

Rep. Bobby Bright (Ala.)

Rep. Chris Carney (Pa.)

Rep. Travis Childers (Miss.)

Rep. Gerry Connolly (Va.)

Rep. Joe Donnelly (Ind.)

Rep. Steve Driehaus (Ohio)

Rep. Chet Edwards (Texas)

Rep. Brad Ellsworth (Ind.)

Rep. Bill Foster (Ill.)

Rep. Gabrielle Giffords (Ariz.)

Rep. Martin Heinrich (N.M.)

Rep. Stephanie Herseth Sandlin (S.D.)

Rep. Mary Jo Kilroy (Ohio)

Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick (Ariz.)

Rep. Frank Kratovil (Md.)

Rep. Betsy Markey (Colo.)

Rep. Jim Marshall (Ga.)

Rep. Mike McIntyre (N.C.)

Rep. Mike McMahon (N.Y.)

Rep. Jerry McNerney (Calif.)

Rep. Charlie Melancon (La.)

Rep. Mike Michaud (Maine)

Rep. Walt Minnick (Idaho)

Rep. Harry Mitchell (Ariz.)

Rep. Patrick Murphy (Pa.)

Rep. Glenn Nye (Va.)

Rep. Tom Perriello (Va.)

Rep. Gary Peters (Mich.)

Rep. Mark Schauer (Mich.)

Rep. Joe Sestak (Pa.)

Rep. Heath Shuler (N.C.)

Rep. Zack Space (Ohio)

Rep. Gene Taylor (Miss.)

Rep. Dina Titus (Nev.)

Most recent
All Articles