Down 7-3 to the University of Buffalo in the opening minutes of the third quarter Tuesday, Ohio University faced a third-and-7 at its own 27 yard line. After the snap, quarterback Tyler Tettleton was chased backward by Buffalo linebackers Khalil Mack and Jarrett Franklin.
As he headed toward the end zone, Tettleton smartly got rid of the ball, throwing it away when he reached the 4 yard line, just before he was tossed to the turf.
But here's where things get odd: Referee Tom McCabe correctly called intentional grounding after the play was over, but he also called a safety, ruling Tettleton had thrown the ball...from inside the end zone, Sports Illustrated reported.
Confused? So are a lot of people.
Need to see it again? Check out the replay below:
How do you call it?
No matter. McCabe — just feet behind Tettleton when the quarterback threw the ball away — declared that the spot of the ball was not reviewable by replay.
So Buffalo increased its lead, 9-3, got the ball back, and eventually scored 21 unanswered points, cruising to a 30-3 victory.
When asked if he may have been wrong in calling a safety on that play, McCabe gave a two-word answer: "Yes, correct," SI reported.
Ohio coach Frank Solich was bothered that the play couldn't be reviewed. "It's a call that points are scored on," he told SI. "I believe all calls where points are scored to be reviewed, certainly if there's a question."
Even Buffalo coach Jeff Quinn admitted that the safety call helped shift momentum to his team's side.
"I thought it was kind of a gift," Quinn told SI. "Yeah, that probably helped us a little more."
(H/T: Yahoo Sports)