© 2024 Blaze Media LLC. All rights reserved.
You Won't Believe This Umpire's Terrible Call

You Won't Believe This Umpire's Terrible Call

Granted, it’s not the worst call we’ve ever seen, but it’s pretty bad.

When third baseman Jack Hannahan hit a flyball into foul territory during last night’s game between the New York Yankees and the Cleveland Indians, Yankees outfielder Dewayne Wise leaped into the bleachers to make the catch.

The third base umpire Mike DiMuro, in all his holy wrath, called Hannahan out. The only problem: Wise didn’t catch the ball.

Obviously, DiMuro should have checked to see if the ball was caught before he made the call. But, for reasons unknown, he didn’t. Oh, and to add insult to injury, Hannahan, who knew he wasn’t out, got tossed from the game after he challenged DiMuro’s miserable call.

Of course, after reviewing the tape, DiMuro had no choice but to own up to his huge mistake.

"I went out on the ball and saw the ball into his glove in the stands. He disappeared into the stands, and I believed that the ball was in his glove. Now that I see the tape, it's obvious that the ball fell out of his glove. In hindsight, I should have asked him to show me the ball,'' he told a pool reporter.

You think?

Look, we’re not saying MLB should -- God forbid -- adopt the NFL’s replay system. As mentioned before on The Blaze, bad calls are part of the game. All we're saying is this: Because baseball is a sport that stands on tradition, it isn’t going to change its system anytime soon. Therefore, it’s not just our duty, nay, our moral obligation to point out when umpires make bush league mistakes -- it’s our only recourse.

(H/T: BI) This story has been updated.

Want to leave a tip?

We answer to you. Help keep our content free of advertisers and big tech censorship by leaving a tip today.
Want to join the conversation?
Already a subscriber?