Get BlazeTV

No One Saw It. He's Not Even Sure It Happened. But It Appears One Pro Golfer's Clear Conscience Is Worth More Than $53,000 in Prize Money.

"Realizing that there could be the slightest doubt..."

HOYLAKE, ENGLAND - JULY 18: Cameron Tringale of the United States hits his tee shot on the fifth hole during the second round of The 143rd Open Championship at Royal Liverpool on July 18, 2014 in Hoylake, England. Stuart Franklin/Getty Images

He plays a sport dominated by exactness and a long tradition of honor and truth and rule adherence — and pro golfer Cameron Tringale found himself facing a possibility he couldn't shake.

The Mission Viejo, California, native just bagged $53,000 in prize money for coming in 33rd place at the 2014 PGA Championship. Not a bad way to spend a few days.

But along with the cash, Tringale also had a guilty conscience.

Cameron Tringale (Image source: Stuart Franklin/Getty Images)

His was a momentary, miniscule miscue — if it happened at all. He's not even sure.

But all the same Tringale, 26, felt he may have missed a stroke when attempting to tap in the ball on the 11th hole last Sunday, noted Yahoo Sport of UK and Ireland. Thing is the possible missed stroke never made it on his scorecard — and Trinangle signed the scorecard.

So he told officials what was on his mind — knowing full well the consequences.

"Realizing that there could be the slightest doubt that the swing over the ball should have been recorded as a stroke, I spoke with the PGA of America and shared with them my conclusion that the stroke should have been recorded," he noted to Yahoo Sport.

More from Yahoo Sport:

Nobody saw it. The man himself isn't even sure whether he did it or not. He's not even sure if it should have counted as a stroke or not, since it's a grey area as to whether or not he had actually addressed the ball to make his stroke (and if you've not addressed the ball to try and hit it, there is no penalty).

But signing an incorrect scorecard means a disqualification — and bye bye to his prize money.

"We are very appreciative of Cameron coming forward to inform us of this situation," Kerry Haigh, the PGA's chief championships officer, told's Bob Harig. "It again shows the great values and traditions of the game and the honesty and integrity of its competitors."

While 50 grand is 50 grand pretty much no matter where you fall on the income scale, Tringle's lost $53,000 likely won't hamper his ability to put food on the table. Yahoo Sport noted he earned $1.7 million in prize money this year.

Regardless, as Yahoo Sport noted, he "deserves a hearty pat on the back for his honesty."

(H/T: Bleacher Report)

One last thing…
Watch TheBlaze live and on demand on any device, anywhere, anytime.
try premium
Exclusive video
All Videos
Watch BlazeTV on your favorite device, anytime, anywhere.
Subscribe Now
Daily News Highlights

Get the news that matters most delivered directly to your inbox.