Watch LIVE

Of Course the Senate Rejected Ryan's Budget (Plus, the Five Republicans Who Voted Against It)



The Senate on Thursday voted 40-59 to reject Congressman Paul Ryan’s 2014 budget.

The Ryan budget, titled “The Path To Prosperity: A Responsible Balanced Budget,” promises to balance the budget in 10 years through lower taxes, a repeal of The Affordable Care Act, and a drastic reduction in the rate of government spending.

Senate Budget Committee Chairwoman Patty Murray (D-Wash.) used an amendment (S.Amdt. 433 to S.Con.Res. 8) to bring the GOP budget to a vote. Unsurprisingly, all 53 Democrat senators voted against it. They were joined by two Independent and five Republican “nays.”

"Enough is enough. Republicans received a vote on their extreme proposal; now that it has failed once more, it's time for Republicans to work with Democrats to enact a budget that reflects our values of fairness and opportunity for all," House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) said after the votes were counted.

Here are the five Republican senators who voted against the GOP’s 2014 budget proposal:

5. Sen. Susan Collins (Maine)

4. Sen. Dean Heller (Nev.)

Associated Press.

3. Sen. Mike Lee (Utah)

Getty Images.

2. Sen. Rand Paul (Ky.)

1. Sen. Ted Cruz (Texas)

Getty Images.

“Senator Cruz sees the Ryan budget as a strong step in the right direction, and far, far superior to the Democrats' tax-and-spend budget, but he thinks it doesn’t go far enough,” the senator’s office said in a statement obtained by TheBlaze.

“In order to restore economic growth--currently mired at 0.1% last quarter--we should be lowering tax rates, but the Ryan plan retains Obamacare’s taxes, as well as this year’s tax increases on income and capital. We should repeal Obamacare in its entirety, and we should reduce wasteful spending and balance the budget at a more rapid pace to solve our grave fiscal and economic challenges,” the statement adds.

Here’s a breakdown of how the Senate voted on the Ryan budget:

And here’s the one senator who missed the vote:

Sen. Frank Lautenberg (D-N.J.). Getty Images.

The offices of Sens. Collins, Heller, Lee, and Paul did not immediately respond to TheBlaze’s request for comment. We will update this article with their responses as they become available.



Follow Becket Adams (@BecketAdams) on Twitter

Featured image Getty Images.

Most recent
All Articles